Filipino Heritage Matters
| Home | Philippine Travel Photos | Early U.S. Census | U.S. Civil War | Students A-K | Students L-Z | Musikeros | Olympiads | Boksingeros | Railroad Workers | Historical Places | Jose Rizal Memorials | Africa (South) | Australia | China | Cuba | Great Britain | Guam | Hongkong | India | Indonesia | Israel | Italy | Japan | Korea | Mexico | Spain | Vietnam | Adopted Filipinos | Dr. Connie Mariano, WH Doctor | CNN Hero | Manny Pacquiao | Guggenheim Finalist | 2 Pinoy in UN Conference | Father Eusebio Pablito Maghari | Petition to Pope Benedict XV1 | Fr. Maghari & the Media | Fr. Maghari & the FilAm Media | NOBEL PRIZE LITERATURE NOMINEE | F. SIONIL JOSE page 1 | F. SIONIL JOSE page 2 | F. SIONIL JOSE page 3 | F. SIONIL JOSE page 4 | F. SIONIL JOSE page 5
Qualified Nominators
The right to submit proposals for the Nobel Prize in Literature shall, by statute, be enjoyed by:

Members of the Swedish Academy and of other academies, institutions and societies which are similar to it in construction and purpose;
Professors of literature and of linguistics at universities and university colleges
Previous Nobel Prize Laureates in Literature
Presidents of those societies of authors that are representative of the literary production in their respective countries.
Process of Nomination and Selection
The Swedish Academy is responsible for the selection of the Nobel Laureates in Literature, and has 18 members. The Nobel Committee for Literature is the working body that evaluates the nominations and presents its recommendations to the Swedish Academy, and comprises four to five members.
Who is eligible for the Nobel Prize in Literature?
The candidates eligible for the Literature Prize are those nominated by qualified persons who have received an invitation from the Nobel Committee to submit names for consideration. Other persons who are qualified to nominate but have not received invitations may also submit nominations.
Below is a brief description of the process involved in choosing the Nobel Laureates in Literature.
September Nomination forms are sent out. The Nobel Committee sends out invitation letters to 600-700 individuals and organizations qualified to nominate for the Nobel Prize in Literature.
FebruaryDeadline for submission. The completed forms must reach the Nobel Committee not later than 31 January of the following year. The Committee then screens the nominations and submits a list for approval by the Academy.
April Preliminary candidates. After further studies, the Committee selects 15–20 names for consideration as preliminary candidates by the Academy.
MayFinal candidates. The Committee whittles down the list to five priority candidates to be considered by the Academy.
June-AugustReading of productions. The members of the Academy read and assess the work of the final candidates during the summer. The Nobel Committee also prepares individual reports.
September Academy members confer. Having read the work of the final candidates, members of the Academy discuss the merits of the different candidates' contribution.
October Nobel Laureates are chosen. In early October, the Academy chooses the Nobel Laureate in Literature. A candidate must receive more than half of the votes cast. The Nobel Laureates names are then announced.
DecemberNobel Laureates receive their prize. The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony takes place on 10 December in Stockholm, where the Nobel Laureates receive their Nobel Prize, which consists of a Nobel Medal and Diploma, and a document confirming the prize amount.
Are the nominations made public?
The statutes of the Nobel Foundation restrict disclosure of information about the nominations, whether publicly or privately, for 50 years. The restriction concerns the nominees and nominators, as well as investigations and opinions related to the award of a prize.
other notes:
The Nobel Committee then consults experts in the relevant fields about the list of preliminary candidates. Using advice from the experts the Nobel Committee then writes a report, which along with the list is signed and then submitted to the prize awarding institutions.The prize-awarding institutions meet to consider the lists and vote on who will become the next laureate or laureates in each field. This is done through a majority vote and their decision is final and not subject to appeal. The names of the laureates are announced immediately after the vote. A maximum of three laureates and two different works may be selected per award. Except for the Peace Prize, which can be awarded to institutions, the awards can only be given to individuals
Since 1974, laureates must be alive at the time of the October announcement.
The prize in Literature is typically awarded to recognise a cumulative lifetime body of work rather than a single achievement


Pursuant to Title 17 U.S.C. 107, other copyrighted work is provided for educational purposes, research, critical comment, or debate without profit or payment. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for your own purposes beyond the 'fair use' exception, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner